North Carolina Psychology Board



Notice of Temporary Regulatory Waivers in Response to Executive Order No. 318

Consistent with Governor Cooper's Executive Order No. 318, entitled, "Meeting North Carolina's Response and Recovery Needs in Support of Hurricane Helene Relief Efforts," effective October 5, 2024, ("EO 318") the North Carolina Psychology Board (the "Board") issues, on October 10, 2024, the following notice of temporary regulatory waivers.

<u>Section 1</u>. Temporary renewal waiver for those psychologists who hold licenses to practice psychology in North Carolina and reside in the 27 designated disaster area counties:

Under N.C. Gen. Stat. §90-270.148(f), a license to practice psychology in North Carolina which was not renewed by the October 1, 2024, renewal deadline remains active until November 30, 2024. A license may be renewed until November 30, 2024, without a late renewal fee. If a North Carolina psychologist's primary residence is in any of the below 27 designated disaster area counties (set forth on Page 3 below) and they are not able to renew their license by November 30, 2024, in order to continue to provide mental health services in the designated disaster area counties, they may practice in-person or by telehealth only in the 27 designated area counties under the temporary waiver authorized by EO 318. There will be no automatic suspension due to failure to renew of any psychologist's license whose primary residence is in any of the 27 designated disaster area counties while the temporary waiver is in place. A license not renewed within thirty (30) days of the expiration of the temporary waiver, as described below, shall be suspended for nonrenewal.

<u>Section 2</u>. Temporary waivers for applicants for licensure in North Carolina who reside in the 27 designated disaster area counties:

a) Application Completion - If an applicant for licensure whose primary residence is in any of the 27 designated disaster area counties (as set forth on Page 3 below) is unable to obtain documents or information to complete their application for licensure, they may continue to practice psychology as an applicant until they are able to obtain the additional documentation to complete their application. In addition, if an applicant for licensure is unable to obtain documents or information because the source of the document or information is located in a designated disaster area county, they may continue to practice psychology as an applicant until they are able to obtain the additional documentation to complete their application. Electronic submission of application documents and information will be accepted from applicants located in a designated disaster area county. Any such incomplete application must be completed within thirty (30) days of the expiration of the temporary waiver as set forth below or the application will be void, as provided in the Board's rules.

b) Licensure Testing Deadlines – If an applicant for licensure is unable to take the EPPP national exam as a result of the closure of testing sites in the 27 designated disaster area counties (as set forth on Page 3 below), or because they are unable to safely travel to a testing site because their primary residence is in a designated disaster area county, they may continue to practice psychology as an applicant until testing centers have reopened and the exam is being offered or until they are able to safely travel to a testing center. If an applicant's primary residence is in a designated disaster area county and they are unable to take the state exam due to the lack of electricity or Internet service, they may continue to practice psychology as an applicant until they are able to take the state exam. Such applicants' testing deadlines shall be adjusted as appropriate under the applicant's specific circumstances. Once an applicant has taken the missed EPPP and/or state exam, such applicants will be required to comply with the Board's normal testing requirements and deadlines, as set forth in statute and the Board's rules. All missed exams must be taken within thirty (30) days of the expiration of the temporary waiver as set forth below or such missed exam will be considered a failure, as provided in the Board's rules.

<u>Section 3</u>. Temporary waiver for psychologists or applicants required to receive supervision who reside in the 27 designated disaster area counties:

If a Licensed Psychological Associate, Provisionally Licensed Psychologist, or applicant for licensure (or their supervisor) has their primary residence in a designated disaster area county (as set forth on Page 3 below) and they are unable to receive supervision required under the Board's rules, they may continue to practice psychology until such supervision is restored. Any missed supervision sessions shall be made up as soon as possible.

The above waivers are consistent with EO 318's authorization to increase mental health services in the designated disaster area counties.

Any psychologist or applicant seeking a waiver(s) under Section 1, 2 or 3 of this Notice must, if possible under their circumstances, contact the Board at info@ncpsychologyboard.org to request the waiver(s) as soon as possible.

<u>Expiration of Temporary Waivers</u> – The waivers contained in this Notice are temporary and shall only remain in effect until EO 318 is rescinded or superseded by another applicable Executive Order or until the Board rescinds this Notice, whichever occurs first. Expiration of the temporary waivers in this Notice will be noted on the Board's website. It is the responsibility of those individuals relying on the above temporary waivers under this Notice to comply with all applicable requirements of the Board, including requirements related to application, licensure, and supervision, upon expiration of the temporary waivers.

Designated Disaster Area Counties:

- Alexander (County)
- Alleghany (County)
- Ashe (County)
- Avery (County)
- Buncombe (County)
- Burke (County)
- Caldwell (County)
- Catawba (County)
- Clay (County)
- Cleveland (County)
- Gaston (County)
- Haywood (County)
- Henderson (County)
- Jackson (County)
- Lincoln (County)
- Macon (County)
- Madison (County)
- McDowell (County)
- Mecklenburg (County)
- Mitchell (County)
- Polk (County)
- Rutherford (County)
- Swain (County)
- Transylvania (County)
- Watauga (County)
- Wilkes (County)
- Yancey (County)

Source: https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4827/designated-areas